A New Purse

I’ve been using the same handbag for many months now.   In October I made a new one from a book pattern as part of The Monthly Stitch challenge.   One problem,  the bag is more appropriate for spring and summer than winter months.   What to do?

Using thw pattern pieces I traced and going on memory for construction;  I made a new handbag. 
image

The material I used I had picked up from the remnant bin with the idea of making a handbag. 

image

Here’s a close up of the material.

I used a cotton fabric from my stash for the lining.
image

image

The original pattern called for one small inside pocket.   Instead I added one foe ky reading glasses and a larger one on the opposite side for small things.

I didn’t have matching thread so I went with a lighter tan that shows off the top stitching. 

I didn’t have a magnetic snap closure so I went with a large snap that I had in my button box.
image

I am pleased with my new handbag and even happier knowing I saved $$$ by making it myself.

Leave a Reply

